Excluding features from shared topological edits
Topology elements can be shared by multiple features. You can find out which features share a given topology edge or node by selecting the edge or node and using the Show Shared Features command.
You can also control whether or not the shared features are affected by edits you make to a given edge or node. By default, all features that share a topology element are updated when you edit that element with the Topology Edit tool. However, when you turn off a feature on the Shared Features dialog box, the feature is not modified if you edit the topology element.
- Click the Topology Edit tool on the Topology toolbar.
- Click an edge or node to select it.
- Click Show Shared Features on the Topology toolbar.
- Click the plus sign to show all the features in a given layer that are shared. You can hold down CTRL and click any check box to check or uncheck all the boxes. A given topology element can be shared by features in multiple layers, so more than one layer might be listed.
- Click a feature in the list to make it flash on the map.
- To exclude a feature from topological edits, uncheck a feature in the list to turn off topology element sharing. Edits that you make with the Topology Edit tool to the topology element do not update this feature.
- Close the Shared Features dialog box.
The unshared status of the feature is temporary and lasts only while the topology element is selected.