Overview of starting and stopping the GPS Tracklog
The GPS Tracklog is started and stopped by tapping the GPS Tracklog tool from the GPS tools drop-down list. Starting the GPS Tracklog automatically sets the tracklog layer’s display status to visible.
GPS positions are automatically saved as points in the GPS Tracklog point shapefile, according to the interval specified in the GPS Tracklog’s layer properties.
Disabled or grayed-out GPS Tracklog tool: The GPS Tracklog tool, in the GPS tools drop-down list, will be disabled or unavailable if the GPS is not active. The GPS Tracklog button is enabled when the GPS is activated.
Starting a new GPS Tracklog: Use the Clear button in the GPS Tracklog’s layer properties to delete any previous tracklog points or to start a new tracklog shapefile. You can also type a new filename to capture a new GPS Tracklog.
Deactivating the GPS while the GPS Tracklog is running Deactivating the GPS while the GPS Tracklog is running will automatically stop the GPS Tracklog.